2017 NSL Scholarship Awards


Photo by Alyse Horn
Northside Leadership Conference scholarship awardees for 2017.

By Alyse Horn

On Thursday, June 15, the Northside Leadership Conference held its 34th Annual Scholarship and Awards Dinner in the Priory’s Grand Hall, 614 Pressley St.

Fifteen graduating seniors were presented with $1,000 scholarship checks and electronic tablets provided by the Rotary Club of Pittsburgh’s Northside.

The scholarship awardees, their neighborhoods, school, and underwriters are:

Brieanna Gerner, Troy Hill, Pittsburgh CAPA, Allegheny General Hospital
Chandler White, Brightwood, Sewickley Academy, BNY Mellon
Morgan Moman, Observatory Hill, Taylor Alderice High School, Dollar Bank
Jenell Younger, Brighton Heights, Oakland Catholic High School, Faros Properties
Mary Katherine Daigle, Fineview, Oakland Catholic High School, First National Bank
DaChanel Rutherford, Brighton Heights, Pittsburgh CAPA, Highmark Insurance
Ethan Reay, Fineview, Central Catholic High School, Huntington Bank
Olivia Cole, Brighton Heights, City Charter High School, Key Bank
Brett Searcy, Perry Hilltop, Barack Obama Academy, Northwest Savings Bank
Jermaine Younger, Jr., Brighton Heights, Central Catholic High School, Peoples Gas
Taylor Stewart, Spring Hill, Barack Obama Academy, PNC Bank
Douglas Johnson, Brightwood, Perry High School, Rivers Casino
Patrick Banze, Observatory Hill, Vincentian Academy, SSB Bank
Declan Walkush, Brighton Heights, Pittsburgh CAPA, Stella Kalaris Scholarship
Menghai Tang, Manchester, Pittsburgh Science & Technology Academy, WesBanco

Neighborhood and business awards were also presented during the evening as well as Lifetime Achievement Awards that included:

Neighborhood and Business Awards:

Allegheny West Civic Council- Dr. Daniel Strinkoski
Brighton Heights Citizens Federation- Dirt Doctor Cleaning Services- Tim Maloney
Community Alliance Spring Garden East Deutschtown- Joe Valorie
East Allegheny Community Council- Douglas Kamper
Fineview Citizens Council- Codie Vileno
Manchester Citizens Corporation- Lisa Freeman
Observatory Hill Incorporated- Regina Scott
Spring Hill Civic League- Sue Lippert
Summer Hill Citizens Committee- Annette Simmons
Troy Hill Citizens Incorporated- Bernie Heinlein

Lifetime Achievement Awards:

Pete & Joan Bellisario- Brighton Heights
Becky Coger- Allegheny City Central
Jean Binder- Perry Hilltop
Tom Murphy- Perry Hilltop
Frank Rossi- Historic Deutschtown

Individuals presented with neighborhood awards were selected by members of their respective neighborhood organizations. Service Provider and Lifetime Achievement Awards are nominated by and voted on by the Northside Leadership Board of Directors and Dinner Committee.


Northside Chronicle Donation